You are viewing a past concert. To return to the season page click here


March 3, 2023 8:00 PM

March 3, 2023

8:00 pm


415 Westlake


March 3, 2023 8:00 PM

March 3, 2023

8:00 pm

The Sitkovetsky Trio

Emerald City Music peeks into the musical friendship of two iconic composers – Robert Schumann and Johannes Brahms – in our flagship date-night classical music experience. The evening features the premiere of the Sitkovesky Trio from the United Kingdom, an open bar, and a “wander-around” concert setting with no stage dividing you from our vastly talented musicians.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

This Concert is


Tickets for this concert are managed by

get tickets

Got Questions?

Have questions? Chat with us using the widget or contact us at:
(206) 250-5510

Robert SCHUMANN: Phantasiestüke Op. 88 (1842)

I. Romanze. Nicht schnell, mit innigem Ausdruck
II. Humoreske. Lebhaft
III. Duett. Langsam und mit Ausdruck
IV. Finale. In Marsch-Tempo

Johannes BRAHMS: Piano Trio No. 1 in B Major, Op. 8 (1853, 1899)

Allegro con brio — Tranquillo — In tempo ma sempre sostenuto 
Scherzo: Allegro molto — Meno allegro — Tempo primo
Finale: Allegro

Embarking on a journey from the UK, the world-renowned Sitkovetsky Trio makes their Emerald City Music debut performance on our stage. This colorful evening of music explores one of the most storied and complicated love triangles of the classical music world: the relationship of Robert and Clara Schumann and their beloved friend, Johannes Brahms. Known through correspondence, this soap-opera-worthy tale explores degrees of musical respect, infatuation, care, and romantic propriety in the 19th century. Robert Schumann’s Phantasiestüke, Op. 88, was written shortly after his marriage to Clara, a brilliant pianist and composer. While her concert touring career was skyrocketing, he melancholically returned home to regain his confidence, penning an incredible six chamber music works, of which this was the last. Brahms’s Piano Trio No. 1 was the first chamber music work published by the twenty-one-year-old rising star. He meticulously labored over this work, throwing most drafts in the fire. At the end of his life, with countless masterworks to his name, he still returned to this trio perplexed and republished a revised work, making this piece unique in that it bears the handwriting and genius of both a young and old Brahms.

Back to Season Calendar


This Concert is SOLD OUT

We apologize, but all tickets for this concert has been sold out.

Please contact us here if you have any questions!



see full calendar
We use cookies To ensure you get the best experience on our website.

Learn more in our
Privacy Policy
ACCEPT COOKIESDecline cookies